Redykle

Just a little blog about me and mine.

Las Vegas Report May 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Katie @ 9:53 am

I decided to post a day-by-day update of our vacation to Las Vegas, so later today I’ll write up last Monday’s vacation activities and share some photos. We actually arrived on Sunday though and here’s what we did for the few hours after we got there and before we fell asleep.

We started our day early in Atlanta by getting up at 6am to get the dogs shipped off to camp for the week. We had an afternoon flight out of Atlanta so we decided to go to church and then head back home for lunch before needing to go to the airport. Our plane actually took off mostly on time out of Atlanta, but it was a really long flight though, like 5 hours I think, and made me want to reconsider any plans to be on planes longer than that in the future. The in-flight movie was Hotel for Dogs–seriously?!–so I read and listed to my ipod and got really bored. We took a shuttle to the hotel, Paris Las Vegas, and probably were settled in by 7pm Las Vegas time.

hotel1

We unpacked a bit and in a perfect moment, PL was laying on the bed checking out the hotel guide, and I flopped down beside her. We had the following exchange:

Me: Are you going to change clothes for dinner?
PL: I don’t know. Are you going to change clothes for dinner?
Me: Do you have anything that goes with this?
And then I hold out my hand displaying this:

ring1

She did actually have something to wear that looks nice with diamonds.

We decided we wanted pizza, and where can you get the best pizza? New York of course, so we went to the New York New York hotel to find some good pizza. We enjoyed the city lights as we walked back to our hotel. Then we decided to play slot machines for a while and we had $5 in free slot play after joining the hotel’s free rewards club. PL promptly won $22.75 while I promptly lost that free $5 plus some more cash that PL doled out to me. (PL was our official money keeper and handed me money as we went, which was probably a good strategy)

After that we both wanted dessert but also felt sort of dehydrated and thirsty, and luckily we found that our hotel had a little bakery that had sorbet. I had a raspberry one in a waffle cone and PL had a mango one.

By this time we were very tired even though it was probably only around 10pm Las Vegas time, but that translates to 1am Atlanta time after waknig up at 6am.

 

4 Responses to “Las Vegas Report”

  1. rev. mama Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! (and I’m only kind of directing that at me, since I beat Julia to the punch on the best blog news ever.) 🙂

    You kids know how to make a vacation wonderful, it sounds. Glad you were able to get away, and I love how this great news is embedded in a post with sorbet and pizza. Very clever. Very clever.

  2. Erin Says:

    I think I need a girlfriend! LOL It is just beautiful. When do we get a picture of her wearing it?

  3. Katie Says:

    There’s one in my facebook album from the trip with her flashing her ring at the camera while holding a margarita.

  4. Julia Says:

    *Shakes fist at Mandy*

    Does it count that I knew about it before hand (and forgot)?

    I love how you gave it to her…too sweet and cute!


Leave a Reply

