Redykle

Just a little blog about me and mine.

People are commenting on blog posts from a month ago, so it’s time to update my blog more often April 21, 2009

Filed under: family,fitness — Katie @ 9:50 am

I’ve felt busy lately, but I guess I wasn’t doing anything exciting enough to write about.  Or, just too busy to realize I was doing some fun things along with all of the work.  Lots of work.  Then some more work.  But I feel bad complaining about how much work I’ve had to do lately when PL is studying 19 hours a day right now for finals.  Things have slowed a bit this week at work, so it’s nice to try to get organized and dig through several piles of papers that I didn’t touch last week since I worked on just one huge project all week. 

It’s also nice that I don’t have a crazy week this week since PL has her first final tomorrow, and I can keep her fed and keep the house from becoming a disaster area.  She’s also a sucker for people who can’t take care of themselves–her words, not mine–so a panicked classmate has been hanging out at our house a lot studying with the calm and brilliant PL.  I have absolutely no clue what they are talking about most of the time, so I just cook for them and then go to the back of the house to read.

PL and I did actually spend a few hours together, awake at the same time even, over the weekend.  On Saturday we ran in the Sweetwater 420 Festival 5k.  We’re up to a point where we can run for 25 minutes or so straight through, but we’re slow and that doesn’t get us very close to 3.1 miles.   We took some walking breaks, and it was also a really hilly course…but we finished and got a cool t-shirt.  It’s really motivating to me to run in a crowd like that, and to start in the same place as the really fit looking people.  We quickly fell back in the pack though and our pace group is the group of slightly overweight, slow people who need to walk a lot–which we totally are–but we think of ourselves as being in the fit group so we’ll keep running until that’s true.  Now that the semester is almost over, the weather is nicer and it’s staying light later, I feel like we will be able to run more regularly.  We also started putting star stickers on the calendar on the days we run, and it might be silly, but it is extra motivation to see lots of stars up there.

 

4 Responses to “People are commenting on blog posts from a month ago, so it’s time to update my blog more often”

  1. rev. mama Says:

    Thank you. I feel much more current now. Also, a teensy bit proud that I made it to the comments page before Julia. 🙂

  2. Julia Says:

    Nooooooo! I’ve slacked in my blog commenting and obsessive page refreshing!

    I totes forgot you guys were doing that run, it sounds like you were beasts. You’re inspiring me to keep up with the couch to 5k program.

  3. rev. mama Says:

    I forgot about the run, too. Mainly because I was thinking of ways that I could stay in bed longer every day of the week. Inspiring, no?

    And, sorry, Julia! I had to beat you one of these posts!

  4. Julia Says:

    That’s ok Mandy, today, you win the internetz!!!!1!


Leave a Reply

