Redykle

Just a little blog about me and mine.

A thumb that’s sort of green-ish March 26, 2009

Filed under: gardening — Katie @ 9:53 am

I wanted to do a quick update of my recent gardening adventures–about the only thing I’ve done besides work, watch basketball and sit in meetings in the last couple of weeks.

A few weeks ago I got started on the Front Yard Garden Relocation Project. I dug up some grass, got some blisters, pulled some muscles, and then stopped and left the tools in the yard. They’re still there. In the rain. So here’s a before and an after, although it’s actually an “after I quit, but before I finished.”

p2170096

p3080141

If the rain clears up by this weekend I’ll actually have time to do some more work to get it ready for planting in mid-April. What’s exciting is since that picture was taken (March 6? wow, that’s a long time to leave my tools sitting out in the rain) some lilies and other unknown plants along with elephant ears have begun to sprout from the ground under the window.

I also started some plants from seed for the first time ever. I spent $19 on seeds and the planting greenhouse. Many of the seeds (carrots, sunflowers, squash, lettuces, peas) will be planted directly into the ground, and then probably promptly dug up by squirrels, but others are best to start as seed and plant as little seedlings. I’ll probably end up buying some actual plants later, but I thought this was a small investment of money and a good learning experience. If even one plant from each set of baby plants gives me some food, I figure that seed packet almost paid for itself at around $1 each.

Here’s what’s happened so far:

March 21st:
Roma Tomatoes, Cherry Tomatoes, Green Peppers, Brussel Sprouts and Broccoli seeds planted, covered with the greenhouse lid and hanging out on the dining room table (a spot some sun coming through the curtain, but not much).

p3200143

p3200144

March 25th:
p3250147

p3250148

The broccoli and Brussels sprouts are the biggest so far, which is good since they like cooler weather and need to get planted sooner rather than later. It might already be a bit late, and those are also fall plants.  We had some beautiful broccoli plants last year, but we also had a cute bunny who liked them more.

In a few days I’ll move these seedlings into a spot with a bit more sun. And then move them outside, probably under a tree to toughen up a little. April 15th is usually our last frost date, so that’s my target for getting the first round of things in the ground.

 

One Response to “A thumb that’s sort of green-ish”

  1. Julia Says:

    You guys are so far ahead of us! We still need to take down the remnants of last years garden. I blame it on having 3 dogs.


Leave a Reply

