Redykle

Just a little blog about me and mine.

All the News That’s Fit to Blog February 1, 2009

Filed under: in the news — Katie @ 5:55 pm

I’ve had a love affair with The New York Times since my 3rd year of college. As a requirement for a Social Theory class at Georgia Tech (yes, we can read and study liberal arts), we had to read the Times everyday. I will forever remember that professor for opening my life up to a great big world of intellectualism, style, dining, theater reviews, and of course, the Sunday wedding section (my secret favorite). I fulfilled my dream of picking up the paper at an actual New York newsstand and reading it in folded pieces on the subway the very next year. p1310071

Somewhere along the path of reading it because it was required and then reading it because I wanted to appear more grown up and intellectual, I became a person who reads it as a matter of daily routine–and that makes me exceedingly happy. I often find myself saying, “an article I read in the New York Times,” and notice that I didn’t even do it out of the intent to look astute and worldly. I read it online now since that’s free, except for November 5, 2008, the cover of which is taped to my freezer, and will be until it yellows and crumbles into a million little pieces.

Online reading has it’s perks, but a major drawback for me is that I tend to graze the news, clicking here and there, usually being drawn to more interesting and quirky articles than say, ones on genocide or Congress’ latest shenanigans. The complexity of our current events at the moment, combined with no longer dreading to learn what asinine and nonsensical policies were being inflicted upon the world with my tax dollars, I’ve had a renewed interest lately in being a news junkie.

As our less than a month in Obama administration proved–and if you didn’t know it already–we’re still not going to like everything the new President will do (i.e. caring what the Republicans think about the stimulus plan since they’re just trying to create a shitty bill so they can then blame you when the economy still blows in 2010), so we’re still going to keep an eye on the folks in charge. As a sharp article on the now ex-Gov. Blagojevich in the latest Rolling Stone points out, “Obama or no Obama, the Democrats are still the Democrats, and there still isn’t any political fight, it would seem, that they can’t find a way to lose.” Amen? Amen.

With this renewed news wonkiness, I’ve found myself posting more Times articles to my Facebook profile lately and emailing articles to friends (they better read them!). I’ve also been thinking that I like blogging, even if for no other reason than to keep a record of things I find interesting, troubling, worthy of mocking, perplexing or fun on a daily basis. So, I thought it might be a good daily habit to pick a Times article each day, give the link and maybe a brief summary or comment about it. Not like a Letters to Editor kind of thing–as a general rule I hate people who write letters to the editor–they are the grown up version of the people (and you know who I’m talking about) who don’t know know the difference between a question and an unnecessary comment that wastes everyone’s time.

I’m a hopeless failure at any kind of daily routine other than showering and dressing and eating–I’ve been on week 3 of a 12 week running plan for 6 weeks and I always plan to pack lunch the night before and rarely do, making myself 5 minutes late to work everyday. But, this could be fun. Tune in Monday.

 

4 Responses to “All the News That’s Fit to Blog”

  1. […] the news — Katie @ 9:29 am The article I picked from Monday’s New York Times for my All the News That’s Fit to Blog feature is Google Earth Fills Its Watery Gaps . Since Google Earth was officially released two […]

  2. […] Pencils Ready? February 3, 2009 Filed under: in the news — Katie @ 3:51 pm Day 2 of All the News That’s Fit To Blog is actually from of the New York Times blogs, After Deadline,  that (which?)  ”examines […]

  3. […] in Village February 4, 2009 Filed under: in the news — Katie @ 6:20 pm So Day 3 of All The News That’s Fit to Blog (and I admit I didn’t even think I would keep at this for 2 days, much less 3) is: Venerable […]

  4. […] 2 work weeks of distraction and time-wasting, I’m going to stop posting the number for All the News That’s Fit to Blog. Why? It’s too hard to remember what day I’m on now that I’m in double digits. […]


Leave a Reply

