Redykle

Just a little blog about me and mine.

The Great Library Experiment, Results Edition Part II September 24, 2008

Filed under: books,family — Katie @ 9:06 am

Breaking News–I just received an email from the DeKalb Library letting me know that a second (out of five) books is available for me at the Covington Branch.  Take that Decatur yuppies in the 30030 zip code.  We might not be able to afford to live near the Decatur library and your little community garden, but our neighborhood library is faster than yours.  A check of PL’s account shows that there is still nothing waiting under her name. 


With this recent development in mind, I am now faced with two ethical dilemmas to resolve.  One, is it ok to be logging into PL’s email to check for library notices?  And two, should I tell you what book I reserved?

Do other couples know each other’s email passwords?  We both have a standard password we use for most online accounts, unsafe I know, but we’re forgetful.  Anytime we want to, we could read each other’s email or facebook messages.  We share checking, savings, and credit card accounts so nothing is secret there.  PL doesn’t even check her own email all that often, so she probably doesn’t bother to check mine–although it wouldn’t bother me if she did.  She mostly gets junk mail and she certainly doesn’t have time as a 1L to be cheating on me, so I don’t check hers either.  But, I can log in if I feel like it.  There have been times when we needed to call each other to look up an address or phone number in our email when we were not at a computer (I’m morally opposed to the Blackberry and my hatred of ATT is great that my lust for an iPhone).  I’ve also logged into her email to print things on our copier at work (shhhh) for her, saving her the trouble of forwarding it and remembering that she needs to print it. 

The second ethical dilemma is that I’m embarrassedto confess what bookI put on my library list.  If I confess that I reserved a Nicholas Sparks book you’ll be ok with that, right?  I know you secretly watch Oprah sometimes and I won’t tell.  I saw a commercial for the new movie “Nights in Rodanthe,” and since Diane Lane is my #1 Hollywood girlfriend, I was intrigued and put the book on my list.  I like to think, and certainly like people to believe, that I’m the kind of person who would think Nicholas Sparks is beneath me.  I could tell even without reading it or watching that movie that A Walk To Remember was way too cheesy for me, but The Notebook, Message in a Bottle, and True Believer were all good stories.  Wait, I’m just making it worse.  I have read 6/13 of Nicholas Spark’s books.  That is 46.2% for those keeping score.  I’ve read 41.6% of Barbara Kingsolver’s books, 80% of Michael Pollan’s, and 50% of Thomas Friedman’s, which hopefully will keep my intellect intact, at least until Danielle Steele has a new release.

 

3 Responses to “The Great Library Experiment, Results Edition Part II”

  1. I know me and my husband, Joe, know each others passwords for pretty much everything. It just ended up being easier that way. We can transfer money if we need to or if someone is away from the computer we can see if they got that important email (I am with you on the Blackberry) or just to see if one of our online bills got paid. I can’t remember the last time I needed to look at his email, but just the other day I had him go into my account and add something to my calendar. Why wouldn’t you share those things unless you had some sort of trust issues?

    As for Nicholas Sparks, we all have our guilty pleasures!

  2. Julia Says:

    Well, in terms of sharing passwords, Robert’s the one who’s going to be in trouble if I die! I do all the banking and so I know ALL the passwords. I don’t think he even remembers the ones to the accounts in his name only! Maybe I should make a list…

    We can read each others email. I read his if I get bored at work. I don’t think he reads mine, though he could if he wanted.

    The most embarassing book I’ve ever checked out was probably “The Total Money Make-over” by Dave Ramesy. Mainly because it’s got a super Christian spin on it and well, Robert and I aren’t exactly the church going type. But it still had some good ideas in it.

  3. Erin Says:

    I know his passwords, and he knows mine, and we do each have reason now and again to check the other person’s email. I have nothing to hide, and neither does he, so why should it matter?


Leave a Reply

