Redykle

Just a little blog about me and mine.

What is this Angel Doing? July 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Katie @ 8:32 am

This lovely mailbox ornament greets us most days on our jog around the neighborhood. 

What in the world is she doing with her hands? 

Was she once holding a hymnal?  A Bible?  A harp?  Or was she always holding her hands, one slightly in front of the other, encouraging everyone with a big thumbs up as they pass by?  Is she a buddy Angel, the silver spray-painted version of the Buddy Christ? 

 One thing is certain, if the house (which is currently vacant but always has broken glass, and even a shotgun shell once, in the yard) ever gets sold, Buddy Angel might need to come live in my yard.  It’s not tacky if it’s ironic.

 

2 Responses to “What is this Angel Doing?”

  1. Julia Says:

    I think she’s a buddy Angel. If you don’t want her, I bet my brother will. He’s amassing a collection of “buddy” religious figures to decorate his car with.

    She might be a bit large for the dashboard though…

  2. Rev. Mama Says:

    My vote: She’s just pleased she didn’t wind up in an Anne Geddes photo shoot holding a baby with wings taped to its back.

    Remind me to tell you sometime about my favorite story regarding thumbs. It’s a doozy.

    If I could, I would turn “It’s not tacky if it’s ironic.” into a bumper sticker. Or t-shirt. I would SO wear that t-shirt.


Leave a Reply

